The AGF currently has 153 members, mainly active in political science, history, and English studies in both Germany and Great Britain. It is especially gratifying that some members who have promoted German-British topics but are now working outside science have remained faithful to the AGF. The membership structure roughly consists of one third professors, doctoral students and students. The number of members has remained fairly constant over the last few years, with the number of annual newcomers slightly exceeding the number of retirements due to age or other reasons. Young researchers as well as interested students are welcome in the AGF.

If you want to become a member in the AGF, please fill in the membership form (PDF) and send it to






THE PRESIDENT: PD Dr. Bernhard Dietz

Department of History - Modern History
Johannes Gutenberg University of Main

Philosophicum, Jakob-Welder-Weg 18, 55128 Mainz

Tel.: +49 6131 392 7191

Fax: +49 6131 392 7115

E-mail: dietzb[at]

Vice-chairman: Dr. Wencke Meteling
Modern History, Philipps University of Marburg
Wilhelm-Röpke-Straße 6c, 35032 Marburg

E-mail: meteling[at]

vice-chairman: Dr. Marius Guderjan
Graduate assistant in British Politics
Great Britain Centre, Humboldt University, Berlin
Mohrenstraße 60, 10117 Berlin

E-mail: marius.guderjan[at]

Treasurer: PD Dr. Torsten Riotte
Historical Seminar (Department 8)
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
Norbert Wollheim Platz 1, 60323 Frankfurt am Main

Tel.: +49 (0)69 798 32629
E-Mail: t.riotte[at]

Secretary: Michael Czolkoß, M. A.
PhD-candidate at the University of Oldenburg
Graduate trainee at the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin (Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz)

E-mail: michael.czolkoss[at]